Under the Lake - "Around The Block" - Mind In Overdrive

It’s clear why Under The Lake is considered possibly the next best thing since Spyro Gyra with their newest mix of slick and polished smooth jazz/funk with a soulful undertow Old Friends, New Grooves combines funk, soul and jazz influences into a muscular, energetic bundle of smooth jazz. Hot on the heels of their 2020 Smooth jazz release “Your Horizon Too”, the band tells their COVID story through 11 all new, original tracks. Bassist Nathan Brown, drummer Richard Sellers, guitarist Patrick Yandall and sax player Quintin Gerard W. join keyboardist / composer Jayson Tipp again for this effort. “Kudos to Under The Lake for making such a listenable album top tobottom…Fantastic musicianship, melodic compositions that push the envelope just the right amount, and a production quality that makes you want to listen over and over.” ~Dave Koz Saxophonist

Aneessa - "Gonna Be Alright" - Sound of L.A.

French Singer/Songwriter Aneessa fled her home on a one-way to ticket to L.A. to claim the love of her life and a fresh start in her work passions. She has triumphantly succeeded with two Top 5 Most Added singles at smooth jazz radio with the promise of more to come. Filled with gratitude and ready to prove it Aneessa is releasing her personal anthem, “Gonna Be Alright,” a sunny feel-good song that is the lead-in for divinely inspired album, Satisfied​, slated for early summer release. Co-composed and co-produced with her husband Michael B. Sutton (Michael Jackson, Smokey Robinson, Diana Ross), the song boasts a gentle four on the floor pulse, sexy guitar-bass tandems and a liberating message sure to incite line dances and skate parties wherever it is heard.

Shawn Raiford - "In The Moment" - SRS Productions

The title of saxman Shawn Raiford’s break out solo project, Man With a Horn, tells of Raiford’s ongoing love affair with the sax, and the way that relationship has impacted him so deeply during his years of live performing, that there was only one possible title for his first full-length album. “In the Moment,” the lead single, has everything to do with Raiford’s intention to embrace this golden opportunity to take his career to the next level, living every incredible moment right now. The saxophonist grooves into his passion for R&B on the seductive, slow simmering ballad that’s romantic but leaves room for colorful whimsy. The hypnotic rhythmic flow lays a foundation for his silky melodic sax lead and exciting sonic details like sizzling horn textures and dreamy flute.

Dan Carlin and Friends - "Cajun Creole" - Rhombus Records

Los Angeles, West Coast Record Label Rhombus Records has just released the new album by Guitarist Dan Carlin, Funky Pink Shoes, featuring some of the best musicians in L.A.. Funky Pink Shoes is a blend of Smooth Jazz/ Latin R&B and Blues. The album is available for Download at Amazon, Itunes, and all Digital portals.

Till Brönner and Bob James – “Elysium” - Sony Masterworks

World-renowned German jazz musician Till Brönner and jazz legend, Grammy Award winner Bob James release their very first collaboration album, On Vacation, out now via Sony Masterworks. Technically brilliant, brimming over with a creative love for refined detail, and also exuding the greatest possible nonchalance, Brönner and James create richly imaginative music to ponder and dwell on, smile about and even cry over. About the current single “Elysium” Bob James says, “I’ve been very pleased to see the positive reaction to ‘Elysium.’ It was a co-composition with long-time collaborator Rachel Kwag. Our goal was to introduce a crossover classical vibe to the project, but keep it funky with Harvey Mason’s unique drum grooves.” Whether it be the late-night jazz piano and swooning trumpet of “Save Your Love For Me” or the upbeat waltz of the title track “On Vacation” punctuated by Brönner’s vocals, the project represents the undeniable and unpredictable union of these two jazz titans.

Chris Blackwell - "Higher Love" - Blue Canoe Records

Dynamic, soulful, and tasteful are the words commonly used to describe Chris Blackwell’s guitar playing. Chances are, you’ve heard Chris’s signature guitar sound if you’ve listened to the radio, watched television, or been to a concert in the past decade. After years in the studio and on stages supporting other artists, Chris is stepping into the spotlight with his own album. The first single, an energetic, masterful interpretation of Steve Winwood’s “Higher Love” is the perfect blend of world class guitar playing and feel-good groove.

Ted Howe - "Sailing" - Blue Canoe Digital

Pianist Ted Howe’s new single release, Christopher Cross’s iconic, “Sailing”, will take you away on an ultra smooth journey into a lush musical paradise where you will literally melt into the tranquility. Ted’s arrangement and performance of this so well known anthem, will compel you to listen over and over again, letting the music take you to where you want to be. As Christopher’s heartfelt lyric says, “Oh the canvas can do miracles, just you wait and see, believe me.” PERSONNEL Piano -Ted Howe, Bass – Joseph Patrick Moore, Drums – Quentin Robinson.

David Blamires - "Fragile" - Empress Music Group

Once again showcasing his vocal range and multi-instrumental musicianship, David Blamires brings us his fresh new arrangement of Sting’s “Fragile”. “Fragile” is at once powerful and intimate. Opening with the signature riff in David’s falsetto the music unfolds as he pulls us in to the lead vocal with a breathy, emotional and intimate tone. A jazzy electric guitar solo is played with breezy effortlessness and supported by David’s warm background vocals. Juno Award winning jazz vocalist Emilie-Claire Barlow makes a cameo appearance adding harmony to David’s soaring vocals. David Blamires is a Grammy Award winning vocalist best known for his work recording and touring with the Pat Metheny Group. In 1991 David recorded and released a self-titled contemporary jazz album, under the name “The David Blamires Group”, featuring the smooth jazz hit “Deep Is The Midnight Sea”, which is still in regular rotation on jazz radio worldwide.

Gabriel Mark Hasselbach - "Chill @Will" ft. Bob Baldwin - Mesa/Bluemoon

There is a new album waiting in the wings on the Mesa Bluemoon label, to be released in the spring of 2021. Guest soloists incl. Paul Brown, Chris Standring, Grant Geissman, Brian Hughes, Miles Black, & Daniel Séguin. Album street date June 7 and Chill@Will single released May 3. Check it out!

Steve Reason - "Let's Have Great Sax" - SoBe Entertainment

With his new single “Lets Have Great Sax” being released this month, Reason will attract attention with this new single. This song is a new sound for jazz enthusiasts, as well as music lovers worldwide. If the world has been waiting for a new jazz sound, then this is what they have been waiting for. The real “reason” behind “Lets Have Great Sax” being selected (as the first release of the year) is because of the way the song makes one feels when it is heard for the first time. The sax replicates a perfect voice in the body of the song, and there are amazing highlighted moments of Reason screaming high notes with great pitch, artistry, and soul. Steve Reason is one of the new artists in the music industry, who will help in bringing back the appreciation for, and popularity to the jazz world, while creating an avenue for new listeners to appreciate jazz.